“Buy Used – Save the Difference”

Standard

Kids should come with a stipend.

In the baby years, it can help pay for all those diapers. For toddlers, all the candy you use as a bribe while potty training. For me, it’s to offset the cost of clothes I have to buy for my 8-year-old.

She grows like a weed!  I buy pants in August for the new school year. By December, she can’t fit them anymore. I keep telling her to stop, but, as with everything else, she doesn’t listen.

images

I dabbled in thrift shopping for myself over the years, but it’s only been in the past two years that I’ve gotten serious.  I don’t pay full price for anything. Bring on the coupons, the sales, the thrift shops, consignment sales, and hand me downs. The best part is that when I started hunting for places to get cheap kid’s clothes, I also found cheap women’s clothing. Bonus! And I’m not talking about the stuff with holes and stains that nobody wants anymore. We’re talking name brands – some with tags that have never been worn.

I recently discovered Swap.com through Swagbucks (which, by the way, is another great way to earn FREE $$ in the form of gift cards). I bought myself some new spring and summer dresses, then decided to hunt for some spring/summer capris and shorts for my daughter. My problem wasn’t in not finding what I wanted. My problem was finding TOO MUCH and having to toss stuff out of my cart.

I limited myself to my favorite 7 items, for which I paid a grand total of $36.  That’s only $5.14 per item. One of them is even new, with tags, never worn.

16298761_10208303997697410_9022388991999283566_n-1

While services like Stitch Fix or sites like Zulily make it sound like you’re getting a deal, they aren’t cheap. The Stitch Fix website says their average price point per article of clothing is $55. $55!

If you’re a mom looking for good quality clothing that you don’t have to break the bank for, do your research. There are great places online and even in your neighborhood that offer quality clothes for reasonable prices.

Two of my online favorites are:
Swap.com
Schoola.com

Does anyone else have any favorite ways to save money on clothes for the family?

 

(Just a disclaimer – I stole that title from the now infamous Duggar family. Despite what you might think of them, their son, and their lifestyle, you can’t argue with the wisdom of saving money.)

 

Leave a Reply

